Broken Hearts

Broken hearts all around, dished out by no other than TPTB to all S&Bers, Sonny fans, Brenda fans and what the hell… SKate fans and Megan Ward fans. 

I understand TPTB WANT us to watch. I understand that in my head but I’m confused as a S&Ber/Sonny fan as to WHY exactly I would watch this mess of a show? It IS a mess. Giant, holy crap of a mess that is almost scary to see.

Before anyone jumps down my throat about we should support the show, support Maurice, yadda, yadda… I do. I watch. I suffer through this asinine show daily. Even if I have nothing to say on Twitter, the show is on, I am watching and cannot believe my eyes or my ears most of the time. There’s little to no fun on the show, no character growth, no depth, no intrigue. I am compelled to watch because it is so bad. I keep waiting for that magical day that the show suddenly becomes AWESOME again.

I miss my show. I miss an interesting Sonny. After that A-HA! moment in August when we discovered he no longer takes his meds, nothing happened. No follow-up, no therapy, no meds, no discussion… Just beat up Sonny time! Go ahead and take your best pot-shot at him, it doesn’t matter, who cares that he is sick and broken!…. That’s the message TPTB are sending the audience. They are basically saying “Sonny is a burned out thug who is fucked up, not worthy of love or friendship and should be taken down a peg or 598. Who gives a crap if he completely goes off the deep end as long as Jason and Carly are happy!!” WTF?

I had high hopes with his bipolar storyline. I had hopes we’d explore more about what makes Sonny tick. Why does he make such drastic decisions and why does he blow up his happiness and choose the wrong path? I was hoping he’d have an A-HA! moment once the meds kicked in as to why Brenda left him… I keep waiting for that letter to be re-found, put back together and read.  I just keep waiting.

Now, we are anticipating nuKate. Hmmmmm….

Question #1….. What was wrong with Megan Ward?

Question #2….. Why must this Kate look and truly be so much younger than Sonny? (Some may say she appears to be a fine age and others have been recast younger before but, again, there was NOTHING WRONG with MEGAN WARD!!)

Question #3…. What the hell is TPTB’s problem with maintaining HISTORY? This includes recent history, past history and in-between history. The viewing public is not senile and we can remember past yesterday, contrary to popular belief. We, the S&Bers watch clips LIKE NOBODIES BUSINESS!! I’m sure other fanbases do this, too and it’s not just us. BUT, we have memorized just about every S&B scene there is. S&Bers are hard-core clip watchers!

Question #4…. Why must all the characters of GH constantly trash Brenda? What did she do to them? Exist? I’m sorry but the character of Brenda has been around longer than MOST of the cast at this point. She is a vet, a legacy character and a heroine. She is not and should not be a victim, she should not EVER be insecure, she should not be trashed or bashed, she should be looked to for inspiration and viewed as a strong woman.

Question #5…. The bashing of Sonny breaks my heart daily. Why must EVERY SINGLE CHARACTER act superior? Carly has shot several people, probably killed one or 2 along the way, has slept with all the leading men and sucks as a friend, mother, companion and also has no moral code. Why don’t they bash her? There is not one character on-screen who should get a free pass to bash Sonny. Not now, not ever.. especially considering some of the vile, awful things they have done during their time in PC.

I am frustrated at the loss of All My Children. I am anticipating the unfortunate loss of  One Life To Live. I am devastated beyond belief over the fact these shows will no longer be. They are being written beautifully, are interesting and compelling. I understand there are cycles, but this is crazy! GH has not been good in YEARS, folks!

Now, I feel very badly for the Megan Ward fans. Very bad at this point. Think of it this way…We don’t see Brenda for a while and finally, we hear we’re gonna have S&B again… BUT, someone else will be playing Brenda.. NOT Vanessa Marcil Giovinazzo. What would we do? How would we feel if our efforts didn’t do anything? Those MW fans campaigned their butts off and some of us helped them. Nothing worked! MW was out and this woman Kelly, was in. If this was us, I would be so beside myself… I think my heart would be forever damaged. I’m not sure if the MW fans have the same type of love for her and for the character of Kate, but I know we have more than just a strong bond to Brenda and Vanessa. We do love this fictional character and the woman behind her, very much. I just can’t even go to the dark place where someone else would be Brenda. It is not feasible.. Not at all. Can’t do it. I’m sorry for the SKate fans.

The forcing of SKate part 2 will do nothing to gain viewers back. I’m sorry but it is an insult in many ways to S&Bers and original SKaters. They may tout a romance, love and a forced friendship and bond but it won’t resonate as true at this time. All last year Sonny ran around telling EVERYONE HE COULD that Brenda was the only one for him, understood him the best, accepted him warts and all, was his soul mate, true love and best friend. How do you go from that to this is 2 months? Hmmm?

BUT anyway, I do believe SKate will fail. TPTB are NOT invested in the character. They recast her and there wasn’t a problem with the original. Without the bond between the actors, and in trying to create chemistry, the viewers attentions spans are quite short. They will not tune in to see this romance take hold. I’m sorry if it’s a hard truth.. Hell, maybe I’m wrong but I don’t think so. I’m bored, haven’t seen Sonny since sometime last week and nothing has been accomplished since our beloved Brenda left and what happened then was this; our hearts broke and then proceeded to shatter into a million pieces.

I miss seeing Brenda on our screens. I know why she is no longer there and I am ok with it. Brenda comes and goes. I always miss her when she is gone. She has always been herself and has done what is best for her life. Unfortunately for us, we are left with a void and having to watch Sonny move on. However, it makes watching the show quite difficult, especially when she and Sonny are bashed daily. 

Wish I could figure out exactly where the show went wrong. There are so many factors to look at. Of course, Guza is top dog on that list. But, he started off strong. He made the show dynamic, exciting and interesting in the beginning. Did he become complacent and confident that he would not be replaced year after year, then proceed to just not care? Then, there’s Carly. I swear that chick just ate the whole freakin’ show! That character needs to die. <— Enough said about her. We have Jason who apparently is a superhero-hitman-with-a-heart-of-gold… WTF? A better plan would have been to uncover the fact that both Sonny and Jason were deep, deep undercover as WSB agents. That would explain why they always escape the law and why the PCPD always looks moronic. Why did the writing become stale and stupid? Why was this allowed for so many years? Why was it a 3-ring circus only showcasing Sonny (in the past, he’s missed now), Carly and Jason? Why are we subjected to Michael and his hooker-stripper girlfriend daily? Why is it now that Robin who is CoS, but no one really respects her or trusts her judgement? Why CAN’T SHE BE A STRONG WOMAN????

Why is it with this show all the women, except that slut, Carly, are victims, needy or insecure? Why can’t they drive a storyline? Why can’t Alexis or Olivia really drive their stories? Why not Robin, who imo, should be the heart of the show, drive a compelling story about herself somehow? This show is sexist and unbelievable most of the time and it is a huge turn off and sometimes, even though the show is on in the background, I tune it out and just chat with my friends on Twitter. It is frustrating to me considering the fact I used to RUN home from the bus or school daily so I wouldn’t miss even a second of GH!!! It breaks my heart. Hurts the soul. The show used to inspire me. Robin, Brenda… They both inspired me to be a better person and to help others. I have always been a giver. I have given my years to GH and in these past 10-12 years… GH has given me nothing back. I look back on that time as this:

Sept. 2002- Feb. 2003 Brenda came back

Aug. 2010- July 2011 Brenda came back again

In between and before?

A big load of BS that includes some of the following: Toxic Balls, Monkey Virus, Franco stunts, Black and White Ball where it was 2 people to a room time, Alan, Georgie, Tony Jones and AJ died. Oh, and Sonny kissed or slept with every woman who joined the canvas during this time. There was also changes to history, rewrites for recent stuff, dropping of possible good storylines, too much mob and way too much Carly and Jason for my taste.

No matter what, I will continue to torture myself daily because I guess I like pain. No, actually, I have hope, not a ton of it right now but it’s there! Hope for the following to happen:

  • Carly dies
  • SKate bomb
  • BRENDA comes back and we have S&B once again
  • Sonny might take his meds and have a change of heart about things
  • Jason may morph into Jason Q, take over the hospital and really become a hero of the show
  • The Quartermaines may grow and dead relatives may spring back from the dead to make a compelling, dynamic family once again. I’m sick of the skeleton crew.
  • Resurrecting the Cassadine Family. Bring back Helena and let’s have Laura back. She can turn from the Webber/Spencer side and becomes a full on Cassadine. Stefan can return from his Bat-Hell also.
  • Discontinue all crappy Carly stories. They all suck.
  • Michael should join the army or something.. He needs to just go away.
  • Ned and Ric come back to fight over Alexis. Alexis gets to bask in the glory of 2 HOT men wanting her. She decides to have them both and they agree.
  • BRENDA comes back and kicks ass
  • Sonny leaves to find his Brenda and lives happily ever after in Positano.

I could go on, but these are some of the things that I hope for daily. I have hope, I have patience. BUT as with everything, patience, hope and positivity wear thin. Each day because it is so bad as a fan, I lose a little bit of hope. I know a lot of fans feel the same way. The ones who Tweet and post on boards are quite vocal about it. Some see a little more balance but imo, it’s not enough. The offline fans I know, who have no voice online wonder what is wrong with the show they used to love. They are bored and switch off the show to do other things.

I support both Maurice and Vanessa tremendously. If not for them, especially Maurice for hanging tough with this show, I would have disappeared years ago. Maurice BRINGS himself into his role. He ROCKS the house daily (when on-screen) and I adore watching him. I will watch him in any role he plays, just like I watch Vanessa in all her off GH roles. They are the real people behind Sonny and Brenda. They have feelings and attachments about their characters. Neither character would be anything without V&M. It must hurt them very much to see their characters bashed daily on-screen, on Twitter and wherever else.

With that said, I will, no matter what, watch the show and support Maurice and I hope Vanessa does come back to I can support her presence, too. I hope people do watch, even though their hearts’ break. But, I know that is a very tall order and in that, I know my hopes for that are dashed. For some, it’s too late, they won’t come back and they question if they’d come back if Vanessa does come back. I think this is sad and it breaks my heart, too.

I hope the state of the show turns around. I want to rush in from Nicholas’s bus stop not wanting to miss a minute of the show again. I want that anticipation of an AMAZING GH day. I want to be happy with my show instead of broken-hearted. Broken hearts have a long way to go before they heal. Hopefully we have that time.

TTFN xoxo~Ro

8 responses

  1. Bravo Ro! You did it again. Straight up every word written is the absolutely truth. Great Blog. Thank you for your honesty and shame on them for not realizing their crap long before this.

    xoxo
    Barb

  2. Your blog is always so truthful and refreshing, so thank you for that. I can’t believe this is the same show i couldn’t go without watching when i was 12 and i haven’t watched in months now and don’t miss it. This nuSkate thing will fail, in my opinion it already has and i feel horrible for skate/MW fans, completely disrespectful. This show will never put Carly or Jason down and putting Sonny with someone else already is sickening. That is why i will watch when Vanessa returns. Love your blogs as always.
    Rachel

  3. Love your blog Ro. It was the sentiments of my heart. Thank you for being such a powerful voice. I wish somehow we could get your voice/words to TPTB. They need to hear this.

  4. Great job articulating the massive disappointment and resentment this awful show brings. The lack of respect for the worthwhile female characters is disgusting and I.am.sickofit. Sonny is an old man and exhibits no growth, respect or any interesting qualities anymore and I am not interested in watching that, especially at the expense of Brenda’s character and the history they share. I sat through an entire year hoping it would get better, but this show is already dead. Your positive presence and energy has been wonderful, Ro, and I appreciate all your time and efforts. The S&B community will forever be the coolest.

  5. So true. I also don’t understand why the Carly Character is everywhere to the point I can’t watch her anymore. Not to mention that she never has to pay for her evil deeds. Everyone around her does. Jason I used to like even with the memory loss but now I find him very 1 dimensional/boring.TPTB writing for Sonny/MB- I don’t know kate history – can’t figure out if he back on meds or not- what happened to the letter- but am more worried that the rumor of him being cut is true that is why all the bashing is going on. SnB are special its the only time one sees a genuine smile/laugh from Sonny. I hadn’t really seen GH since S left B/started to watch again in 10/2010-but now?

  6. Thank you Ro for saying everything us S&B fans think and feel! I hope that the writers will see this and listen, they could really learn something about writing from the fans! I have loved GH most of my life, I will say I was obsessed with GH. I planned my life around GH,couldn’t wait to see Sonny and Brenda. They gave me butterflies in my stomach every word, kiss, touch, they way they looked at each other. I was also interested in other characters storylines. The show flowed and made sense…now it is just a jumbled mess of nothingness! There is not one storyline on today that I am interested in since Brenda left. The writer’s can try to rewrite history all they want but I will never buy it! Skate will FAIL like the first time and like every other Sonny pairing they have tried. Brenda is it for Sonny and always will be…END of STORY!! It is sad and heartbreaking for sure and I hope that the writers will one day piece our hearts back together again!! The fans, the show, VMG, MB, S&B, deserve BETTER!!

  7. Beautifully expressed. You are absolutely right. I gagged through Scum, and I guess I’ll gag through NuSkate, but I SO hope Vanessa returns!

Leave a Reply

