Nurses Ball 2014

general-hospital-nurses-ball-2014-title-card

I believe that TPTB need a little history lesson and they should honor one of the most important storylines that ever emerged from this show.

Long, long ago, 20+ years ago, a boy met a girl. Boy and girl did not care for each other very much at first but then realized they were attracted to each other. They snuck around, they fell in love and girl lost her virginity to boy. They were careful, they spoke about protecting themselves. One time they did not protect themselves and soon after, boy caught a cold he couldn’t get rid of. Girl taught boy how to read and they fell deeper in love. Weeks went by and boy was still sick, he went to the doctor. Tests were preformed……. Boy was not only HIV+, he had full-blown AIDS! Not very long later, boy died and girl found out she had gotten HIV from her first love. She began a protocol that has saved her life for 20 years. She went on to have a healthy marriage and even have a baby.

That couple was Stone Cates and Robin Scorpio. Their love story was not only epic, but very, very important. HIV/AIDS was still quite a taboo and daunting subject to discuss. This story arc brought it to the forefront of not only the teenagers who fell in love with them but their mothers and grandmothers. It opened up a dialogue and took away some of the taboo… A very attractive couple, such a handsome boy, contracted HIV from an old girlfriend who used dirty needles. He never got sick and didn’t think about it again. He thought he was safe. He thought wrong. Robin led a sheltered life with Uncle Mac, she knew however that safe sex was very important. Felicia took her to the dr to start the pill. The mistake was the fact Stone never thought to check his status.

8118c326e1eb4f607dc0cda2868802b0

The whole town came together to celebrate Stone’s life and make his soon-to-happen death easier. They celebrated Christmas early. He went to Robin’s senior prom. Robin and Stone exchanged vows while Robin wore her mother’s mantilla. They were bonded, they understood the end result but they lived in each moment they had left together.

The audience was moved to tears. Tears flowed for a fictional character who told an amazing story of unconditional love, courage, friendships and even at times, prejudice. Those feelings stayed with all those viewers who watched this unfold in real-time…

Flash forward 20 years from that  Nurses Ball when Robin broke down onstage, wrapped in that part of Stone’s quilt, and Jason came in and picked her up off stage and carried her away, to now, today, May 13, 2014…

I had my moment(s) where I enjoyed this years’ ball… My favorite being Dr. O’s rendition of “Willkommen” from Cabaret… After that, it was downhill… There was no mention of HIV or AIDS. No mention about Robin or why the Nurses Ball began. There was NO INFORMATION given to anyone about any new findings in the fight against HIV/AIDS! No education, no numbers flashing onscreen for donations, or more information about HIV/AIDS, no websites in the crawl at the bottom of the screen… Look, I understand this is a soap opera, a show… But, once a year, General Hospital has a very unique, amazing opportunity to do something fantastic! They could gather donations and/or raise true awareness for a nasty illness that has taken many, many people away from their families and friends.

The sexual innuendo during this Nurses Ball in particular I have a hard time with. While you can get HIV through needles or blood, mostly this is a virus contracted through sexual contact. I think some of the acts were inappropriate and a slap in the face to those who remember the origin of the ball itself.

If GH wishes to continue down this road, then the Nurses Ball needs a new name… Perhaps the General Hospital Variety Ball… They can raise money for the hospital or whatever..

I like original recipe. I like when editing and continuity go hand in hand. I like respect to history, especially one as important as this. I know I learned SO MUCH from the HIV storyline. It educated me and what I learned has stayed with me. I’m not perfect, perhaps I don’t remember the facts quite as exactly as they happened or I learned them BUT the jist is still there. The feelings I had that moment when Stone said “Robin, I can see you!” and then he passed on, has stayed with me and each time I hear about the Nurses Ball, those feelings are evoked and my hopes are raised.. I’m sorry to say that my hopes fell flat on its face and I am disappointed in the lack of respect or a tradition that was carried on for many years….

If you can’t do it the right way, don’t do it and create your own thing. Let us have our memories and as you create something new, we’ll have new memories.

Life is short and I do enjoy GH.. I nitpick certain things I feel are important.. The Nurses Ball is one of those things… It was about everything else other than what it was supposed to be about! You can have an entertaining, yet educational few days of a show, while watching the fantastic and  talented cast do showcase their talents outside the box.

TTFN~xoxo Ro

Leave a Reply

