Outlander

Hi all!!

Long time, no post once again. I am truly sorry about that but when there’s nothin’, there’s just nothing to share about our beloved S&B. Right now, Sonny is all foolish with sparks of our guy underneath who just appears to be a shell of himself. While I would totally, beyond a doubt LOVE for Vanessa to come back and bring our Brenda back to life, I truly believe there is no room for her on-screen right now. The story does not indicate any longing for B on Sonny’s part nor does the character seem needed. In 6 months however, we may be seeing a different tale start playing out on-screen. I do think in time the character of Sonny needs Brenda to become viable once again and possibly to usher him off canvas unless TPTB can come up with a sweet contract for Vanessa where she can have tons of time off ala, Tony Geary. But, that’s really here nor there…

Today, I am sharing with you all my new obsession, in book form and tv series form: OUTLANDER.

outlander_starz

This is the premise:

Claire Randall is leading a double life. She has a husband in one century, and a husband in another…

In 1945, Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon–when she innocently touches a boulder in one of the ancient stone circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach–an “outlander”–in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of our Lord…1743.

Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire’s destiny in soon inextricably intertwined with Clan MacKenzie and the forbidden Castle Leoch.She is catapulted without warning into the intrigues of lairds and spies that may threaten her life …and shatter her heart. For here, James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, shows her a passion so fierce and a love so absolute that Claire becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire…and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.

Quoted from http://books.google.com/books/about/Outlander.html?id=LjTKSJGfQVMC

This series covers 8 BIG books, a few mini books & novellas. There’s even a graphic novel that Diana Gabaldon created as well as companion books to keep the characters straight and to fill in some details. Diana is very interactive with her thousands of fans, huge Outlander communities and now an army of Outlander lovers on Twitter.

Okay, so you guys are wondering where I am going with all of this, aren’t ya? Well, I started reading the series shortly before the first episode aired on Starz in the beginning of August. I finished the first book the night before the series premiered. It was a pretty massive book that I loaded on to my Kindle. It took me 2 days to read 642 pages and jumped into the next book post-haste! The 8 books combined, work out to be somewhere around 10,000 pages.

The love story of Claire and Jamie grabbed me in the very same way Sonny and Brenda grabbed me all those years ago. Their hands and eyes met over a suitcase on the docks… Here, Claire popped Jamie’s shoulder in place and then took care of a gunshot wound. Their eyes met, a touch lit a fire within their souls and then this was said by Jamie:

“Ye need not be scairt of me,” he said softly. “Nor anyone here, so long as I’m with ye.”
Diana Gabaldon, Outlander

BydWjuMCUAEKIZ7

From that moment on, Jamie and Claire forged a beautiful friendship and she grew to trust Jamie. Many things happen within the first half of the book… Mostly Claire finding her footing in the 18th century. She tries in vain to get back to Craigh Na Dun (the circle stones, picture a small Stonehenge.)….

I won’t spoil the books or series for you so I shall stop there but not with my comparison of my beloved S&B and J&C.

The passion each couple carry for each other is all-consuming. It is raw, true and beyond the soulmate definition. They are split apart souls who search for each other in each lifetime. Sometimes those souls are meant to be, against all odds and sometimes it’s just to remind the other soul that the one is still there, waiting for the one’s life lesson to be learned before the two can be joined into one as a couple.

Claire and Jamie save each other like Sonny and Brenda have saved each other. We know that Brenda’s blood flows through Sonny’s veins. We saw that happen. No matter what, Brenda lives within Sonny and he is her true home and always will be… Brenda will always be Sonny’s savior and safe place. Even when things were ugly, they always accepted each other for the messy, very human & passionate people they are. (Of course, very fictional, too!) Claire and Jamie have all that…. in spades and then some. There’s even a blood scene between them. If you read oe watch you’ll see and I’m not talking about the normal bloodshed of the 1743 time period in Scotland. Trust me, there’s blood and gore galore mixed into a very beautiful love story. Kind of like the massive mob wars Sonny and Brenda lived through and were able to tell the tale of 20 years later! 2 different time periods, a war for territory, survival, keeping your love safe and very hot sex peppered within. Imagine Sonny in a kilt and Brenda in a corset and you’re pretty well good to go… Oh, give Sonny a Scots accent and imagine him calling Brenda “Sassenach.”

OH, Claire’s first husband would be Jax… Jamie is Sonny in this beautiful story. Keep that in mind as you go just so we can keep the love for S&B alive! 😉

The visuals on the tv adaption are just breathtakingly beautiful. The music score is timeless and addicting. The characters in both the books and series are rich, rounded and seem very real. The way DG (Diana Gabaldon) writes is full of so many visuals, so much history, so much story, colorful characters, places and fabrics, you must read the series more than once in order to capture all of the details you missed in the first, fast and furious read through. DG makes you FEEL what the characters are feeling. You weep, you smile, you laugh, you feel passionate, you’re angry, mad and left with a feeling of wanting more. As I read the books or watch the series, the scenes play out in my head like our beloved S&B clips. I remember the quotes, especially from Jamie to Claire. He just loves her so. She is his first, his last and his everything. She is his whole world and you can feel that. Claire is more complicated but, for her, Jamie is her life, breath, heart and soul.

You all need to read the books and if not because you’re not a huge reader, you must watch the series on Starz. They just started their midseason hiatus, coming back on April 4, 2015 but they are repeating the first 8 episodes and you can see them on demand. It is well worth the $ for Starz. This is probably one of the most epic stories I have ever read or watched unfold on my tv. TPTB have stayed pretty true to the book. Of course there are changes and additions to make the story fuller for tv but imo, they are good changes because it all stays within the true spirit of the story. While I think some awesome things are left out, I also understand the time constraints on an hour-long tv series. There’s really only so much you can include.

What I also love is how many books there are in this series and that DG is working on #9! Remember when Sonny talks to Brenda about growing old together in the caves?

Sonny: Yeah, yeah…for about five seconds. That’s all it took me to know that I wanted to spend the rest of my life with you. You know, even now, I walk by your billboards and see some guy staring up and I think – this guy’s an idiot. What does he know? He doesn’t have a clue how beautiful she really is. Not even Jax knows… (Brenda starts smiling again at this!)…only me. And if we had grown old together, when you had lines on your face and gray in your hair, you’d still be the most perfect thing in the world to me.

Brenda: (Smiling) You know I can’t even picture you old…it doesn’t matter what happens to your face. I’ll always look in your eyes and see a little boy…abused and scared, holding all the pain inside. 

THIS you will carry with you through Claire and Jamie’s story…. I know I did. No matter how crazy, heartbreaking and complicated things get for J&C, somehow, love always prevails. I just pray that one day, our beloved S&B get the pay-off like other fictional characters I have come to know and love.*

*Not spoiling anything because the book series *is* so far 8 books long and Jamie and Claire are in all books. The writer says the series stops with their deaths… Or will it?

Come and take this time-travelling journey with me! I read almost daily…. The first book and the last one are so far my favorites. The first one because everything is just so fresh and new; and the last one because you can really see the journey they took together… Plus in the last one it’s the location that gets me because I can picture it with where I live and the journey with my family tree I just took earlier this summer. The books in between are magnificent, too but just like with clips and storylines, certain things grab you more than others. You’ll always have your favorites for certain reasons… Like, for instance, The Wire… Most of us hate The Wire scenes and cannot watch it after the first time. I, for one, *like* The Wire. I think it truly shows how much they both lost because they didn’t trust the other enough to be honest and communicate. It is heartbreaking, violent, crazy and beautiful. I personally think it is one of Maurice’s and Vanessa’s best work in all their years. That one scene brings out many emotions, good or bad, what it does to you is what they were trying to convey and they did that with unbelievable passion!

Claire is a very strong, independent woman… Really much ahead of her time, no matter the time in which she is in. She is a quick learner and adapts well. She is someone to admire and want to throttle at the same time. Sometimes her choices are questionable but she does make them with heart & other people’s well being in mind.

Jamie is described as “The king of all men.” He is such a strong character, trouble is never far behind him but he’s crafty, loyal to the end, trustworthy, true and very gentle and loving. He is a natural born leader and he shines throughout the series with his care for others.

Jamie and Claire truly compliment each other… Just like Sonny and Brenda compliment each other. Sonny knows how impulsive Brenda can be… He accepts her no matter what and knows when she’s gonna do something stupid. He also saves her from herself.. He’s sent her to the edge, too, more than once but each time he did it to save her. You’ll understand.. just buy Outlander and read it. You’ll see! If you don’t love it, I understand. It’s not meant for everyone but it is an amazing read which is wrapped in MANY different genres. It is a very interesting story.

Jamie is played by a wonderful Scot, Sam Heughan. He is fantastic as Jamie Fraser.. Or formally, James Alexander Malcolm MacKenzie Fraser. 🙂

Bu3xfegCUAAFj3m

Claire is played by the beautiful Irish lass, Caitriona Balfe. She is wonderful as our Claire Beauchamp Randall Fraser.

OUT_108-20140509-ND_0537.jpg

 

59f9e42da26d6e4c39d46c34de020b22 10345741_715444235204279_3025517487102069177_n 10690044_1554173304795661_33530095384053692_n BueOCgrIcAAnIKK e645284a431c034ab58f21e858e318cd tumblr_nc9zf9JVho1tjlv2to1_500

 

A couple of sites for you to check out if interested after my crazy, full post:

Outlander Book Club:  http://outlanderbookclub.freeforums.org/ (SUCH an excellent site!!)

Diana Gabaldon Twitter: https://twitter.com/Writer_DG

Outlander Starz Twitter: https://twitter.com/Outlander_Starz

Caitriona Balfe: https://twitter.com/caitrionambalfe

Sam Heughan: https://twitter.com/Heughan

BTW: Sam and Cait have unbelievable chemistry between them… On and off camera. Just sayin’. Reminds me much of M&V. In fact off camera I see such a spark between S&C.. Their Twitter interactions are verra cute!

If you’ve stayed with me this far, thank you and if not, I understand! Thank you for allowing me this forum to share in my joy of finding a new couple and introducing them to you. I hope it peaks your interest. I’d love to eeeeeeeeeeee with my girls again, even if it’s about something new. 🙂

TTFN~ xoxo, Ro

 

Leave a Reply

